The Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN) has commended the Federal Government on appointing, Dr. Olalekan Fadolapo as Registrar /CEO of Advertising Practitioners Council of Nigeria (APCON). Dr. Fadolapo was part of the nine Chief Executive Officers appointed recently by the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, President Muhammad Buhari.

The President of the Association, Mr. Steve Babaeko in a statement described the appointment as the right move in the right direction based on Dr. Fadolapo’s experience and background as the Executive Director of the Association and as a member of the Immediate Past Governing Council of APCON.

The AAAN President particularly commended President Muhammad Buhari on this laudable appointment, saying “the appointment of Dr. Fadolapo could not have come at a more appropriate time as efforts are being made to reconstitute the APCON Council as well as reposition the Advertising Industry. As an experienced and competent advertising practitionerwith over two decades in the industry, we have utmost confidence that under his leadership, APCON will strive to much greater heights and achievements.”

The appointment, according to the Vice President/Chairman, Government Relations Committee of the Association, Mr. Jenkins Alumona, showed that the Federal Government is attentive to the needs of the industry and willing to collaborate with practitioners on making meaningful impact in the industry.

Dr. Fadolapo’s appointment has elicited support from all sectors of the Advertising industry based on his antecedents and wealth of experience.

A graduate of Economics from Ogun State University (now Olabisi Onabanjo University), Dr. Olalekan Fadolapo, holds three master’s degrees, and a PhD in Marketing Communications. He is a registered Advertising Practitioner, a Chartered Accountant, and a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN).

Dr. Fadolapo before his appointment was the Executive Director/CEO of Association of Advertising Agencies of Nigeria (AAAN). He has served the Association and APCON in various capacities, including: