The Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR), has elected Dr. Ike Neliaku of Rightangle PR and Dr. Sule Yau Sule of Image Merchants Promotion alongside 15 others as members of the Governing Council of the Institute.

The members were elected at the end of the Institute’ Annual General Meeting in Abuja.

The Institute is run by a 22-member Governing Council made up of 17 elected members and 5 nominees of the Federal Government.

The Spokesperson’s Digest, a publication of PRNigeria reports that the elected members would form an Electoral College to elect the President and Vice President, who are to also double as Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Governing Council for a tenure of two years.

The major contenders for the Presidency of the institute are two Fellows of NIPR, Dr. Ike Neliaku of FCT Chapter and Mrs. Nkechi Ali-Balogun of Lagos Chapter Chairman. Meanwhile, with the outcome of elect result, Nkechi Ali Balogun could not make it to the council.

Results of the NIPR Election on 24th August 2023

The 17 Elected Council Members

Dr SuleYau Sule-868 void 20
Ini Ememobong Essien-867 void 3
Dr Ike Neliaku-830 void 10
Bashir Adamu Chedi-815 void 18
Dr Adewale Oladipo Oyekanmi-811 void 23
Okoh Thelma Chika-808 void 22
Kabir Ali Kobi-795 void 3
Adaramola Temitope-788 void 13
Professor Kate Azuga Ominuga-753 void 11
Dr Saidat Salah Abdulnaqi-713 void 27
Prof Emmanuel Dandaura-695 void 16
Professor Sarah Benjamin Luwahas-673 void 10
Prince Ford Ozumba-656 void 6
Pastor Paulinus Eyinda Nsirim-648 void 2
Olubunmi Adedoyin Badejo-630 void 12
Akin Agbejule-612 void 25.
Bajulaye Adetokunbo-593 void 23
Yakubu Gomos-584 void 3

Other Candidates

Charles Aniagu-485 void 14.
Sajoh Ahmad Ibrahim -390 void 7
Nkechi Ali-Balogun-375 void 11
Aliyu Umar Aliyu-314 void 13.
Hogan Eyo Bassey-305 void 6
Afolabi Olajuwon-288 void 9.
Lamidi Ishola Kamarudeen- 288 void 8
Sunday Adelabu Adeyemi Adejorin-239 void 7
Samuel Tobih Oseluka-233 void 3
Princely Kingsley Ngunu-208 void